

Ainsdale St John's CE Primary School

Governing Body Structure 2023-24

Last updated: 15th September 2023

Governing Body Membership

Name	Category	Appointing Body	Appointed	Current term expiry
Mr John Forshaw (Chair)	Foundation	Diocese/Church	01.03.13	2024
Mrs Lorna O'Brien	Headteacher	n/a	N/A	N/A
Mr Ste Bray	Foundation	Diocese/Church	15.09.22	2026
Mr Stuart Geoghegan	Foundation	Diocese/Church	01.09.21	2025
Mr Peter McHugh	Foundation	Diocese/Church	01.09.14	2026
Dr Jenni Rigby	Foundation	Diocese/Church	01.09.21	2025
Mrs Christine Thursfield (Vice Chair)	Foundation	Diocese/Church	01.09.18	2026
Vacancy	Foundation ex-officio	Diocese		n/a
Mr Martyn Maguire	Parent	Parents	01.09.18	2026
Mrs Katie Smith	Parent	Parents	01.02.20	2024
Vacancy	Local Authority	Governing Body		
Mrs Amanda Horsley	Staff	Staff	18.11.21	2025
Mrs Pauline Neilson (Sefton Governor Services)	Clerk	Governing Body	14.09.23	2024



Ainsdale St John's CE Primary School

Governing Body Structure 2023-24

Last updated: 15th September 2023

Governing Body Committees

Committee	Members	Quorum	Frequency
	All governors		Annual
Full Governing Body		6	Termly
Governor Committee	All governors Kirsty Taylor (advisory)	Urgent decisions that cannot wait until FGB require at least 6 govs present	Termly
Pay Committee	John Forshaw Ste Bray Stuart Geoghegan Christine Thursfield Lorna O'Brien (advisory) Kirsty Taylor (advisory)	3 external govs + Headteacher	Termly (if required; prior to FGB)
Church & Community Partnerships	John Forshaw Christine Thursfield Lorna O'Brien Linda Davies (Church PCC rep)	3 (must include 1 Church and 1 School rep)	Termly (Autumn 1 Spring 1 Summer 1)
Admissions	John Forshaw Jenni Rigby Katie Smith Christine Thursfield Lorna O'Brien (advisory) Nikki McCaughrean (advisory)	3 external govs	Annually (Spring 2) plus as required for appeals)
Headteacher's Performance Management	John Forshaw Christine Thursfield Clare Cheetham (Ext Advisor)	2 external govs + external advisor	Annually (Autumn 2)
Staff Appeals	Ste Bray (if untainted) Katie Smith (if untainted) Peter McHugh (if untainted)	3 untainted governors	As required
Pupil Discipline	Constituted if required with three governors (not including Headteacher or Staff Governor) not involved previously in any discussions or interview concerning the matter in question or not known personally to the parents or pupils involved		

SOALE ST ON A STATE OF THE STAT

Ainsdale St John's CE Primary School

Governing Body Structure 2023-24

Last updated: 15th September 2023

Link Governors – School priorities

SIP Priority	SLT Lead	Link Governor(s)
 SIP1: Improve writing Embed spelling strategies Introduce Letter-Join handwriting scheme Open-ended writing opportunities across the curriculum 	EG/AH as Key Stage leads with KH as writing subject champion	Christine Thursfield
 SIP2: Increase number of greater depth mathematicians Reasoning and problem solving for ALL Use of shine brighter investigations to provide deeper challenge Evidence of children being moved on sooner within lessons if rapid graspers 	AH as maths subject champion and AHT	Ste Bray
 SIP3: Embed behaviour expectations of 'Ready, Respectful, Safe' 3 behaviour words used regularly in lessons Lunchtime behaviour improved with elements referred to 'Beacons of Light' award each half term for children who ALWAYS shine as brightly as possible 	LOB, AH	Stuart Geoghegan
Curriculum overview	LOB	Katie Smith Jenni Rigby

Additional Link Governor roles

Area	Staff lead	Link Governor
Safeguarding	Mrs O'Brien – Designated Safeguarding Lead Miss Giles – Deputy Designated Lead	Christine Thursfield
Health & Safety	Mrs O'Brien	Governor to accompany HT on annual H&S learning walk
Accident book	Mrs O'Brien	Katie Smith
SEND & LAC	Miss Giles	Martyn Maguire
Data Protection Officer (DPO)	Mrs O'Brien	Peter McHugh
Attendance	Mrs O'Brien	Christine Thursfield
School Fund audit	Mrs K Taylor	Ste Bray
Assessor for applications to UPS	Mrs O'Brien	Pay Committee review

Adopted Governors

Year Group	Name	Adopted Governor
Reception	Miss Giles	vacant
Year 1	Mrs Andrews	Stuart Geoghegan
Year 2	Miss Sheffield	Katie Smith
Year 3	Mrs Johnston / Mrs Banks	Christine Thursfield
Year 4	Mrs Horsley	Ste Bray
Year 5	Mr Corbett	John Forshaw
Year 6	Mrs Houghton	Jenni Rigby